Evolution of GUP: 1973-2013



Quaker Service-American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) started emergency rehabilitation activities in war-ravaged Rajoir Upazila of the Madaripur District of Bangladesh. The Founder Director of GUP late Mohammad Ataur Rahman acted as co Field Director while the other co Field Director was Mr. Bob Anderson ( a Canadian citizen) This phase of relief and rehabilitation work of Quaker Service created the ground for the formation of GUP.


Quaker Service phased out the relief and rehabilitation work and a development organization named as Gono Unnayan Prochesta (GUP) was formed by the leadership of Late Mohammad Ataur Rahman as its Founder Director with the initial support of Quaker Service American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) in association with the Quaker Peace and Service (QPS)-UK and Canadian Friends Service Committee (CFSC).


Cooperative and Credit activities, Child health and Adult education program started.


Introduction of Groundnut cultivation and expansion at farmers' level as a new crop in the project area.

1978 Women and Children Development Program (Jute and Handicrafts works) started.
1980 Livestock Program with poultry/duck farming and cattle insemination started. 
1982 Peace Centre at Khalia established. Batik Industry in Rajoir set up

Bakery production unit at Rajoir established


In emergency response to flood victims, massive rehabilitation activities initiated. Fishery Program with pond re-excavation, fish hatchery, fish fingerlings stocking and extension service began. Atish Dipanker Seba Padak received for outstanding services to the flood victims of 1988

1989 Engineering Cell for irrigation activities started and Credit Cell established. 

Participation in Non-Formal Education through Hard to Reach Project of GoB. 

1993 Working area extended to Chittagong. GUP celebrated its 20th anniversary. 

Integrated Health Education Program started with Swiss Red Cross (SRC).


Partnership with PKSF for micro-credit operation started.


Safe Water Supply and Arsenic Mitigation Project in partnership with UNICEF. 


Partnership with Practical Action (former ITDG) through Marketing and Livelihood Project


Founder Executive Director Mohammad Ataur Rahman expired (6th August 2003).

Nasir Uddin Ahmed, Director, appointed as Acting Executive Director and continued till joining of the New Executive Director.

The New Executive Director S. A. Wahab (one of the Founder Members) joined GUP on 1st July 2004.


 Organizational Development (OD) Process in GUP started and GUP Vision, Mission, Goal and Objectives revisited.


GUP role in the field of Community Based Disaster Risk Reduction and Preparedness was        highly recognized by Disaster Management Bureau of GoB (SAARC Workshop report published by SARC Disaster Management Centre and Disaster Management Bureau of Ministry of Food and Disaster Management, GoB 2007).


Involved in SIDR response activities in SIDR affected offshore islands of Galachipa Upazila of Patuakhali District. Construction of 3 Schools cum Cyclone Shelters: 1 in Chittagong and 2 in Patuakhali District.


Construction of Ataur Rahman Memorial Peace Library and Renovation of old buildings of the Peace Centre.


Inauguration of Ataur Rahman Memorial Peace Library of Peace Centre at Khalia, Rajoir, Madaripur and partnership with Save the Children USA for Nobo Jibon Program and with IRRI-Bangladesh for Sustainable Soil Management for Food Security of Poor, Marginalized and Small Farmers of Active Flood Plain and Char Lands of Bangladesh (SUSFER) - a project of Soil Resource and Development Institute (SRDI), Government of Bangladesh funded by European Union (EU).


Undertake Nobo Jibon Program (NJP) activities in Hizla Upazila of Barisal District.

2012 Partnership with IRRI-Bangladesh for Sustainable Rice Seed Production and Delivery Systems for Southern Bangladesh (SRSPDS)--Expansion of Cereal System Initiative of South Asia (CSISA).

Partnership with HYSAWA FUND in providing training courses to Union Parishad (UP) and other stakeholders in 81 Unions under 5 districts of Greater Faridpur.